Success with the first French Stable and Stud Staff Awards

Success with the first French Stable and Stud Staff Awards

22 November 2016

Created in 2005 by Godolphin in the United Kingdom then duplicated in Ireland, Australia and the United States, the Stable and Stud Staff Awards are designed to honour and reward employees in the shadows of this passionate industry.  

This initiative was held for the first time in France this year in association with France Galop. A project appreciated by the owners, trainers and breeders seeing as 172 nominations were submitted by the end of the applications period on 23 September. After careful selection by a jury composed of fourteen members to decide the finalists, a ceremony revealing the winners took place at Auteuil last Saturday 19 November. In total, six prizes were awarded for six different categories:  

- ‘Leadership', awarded to Jean-Bernard Roth (employee to Jean-Claude Rouget). This honour awards an employee who demonstrates responsibility and a desire to succeed within the industry. 

- ‘Dedication to Racing', awarded to Jean-Paul Montule (employee to Francis-Henri Graffard). This prize is awarded to a member of staff who is an integral part of the team and who has at least fifteen years of experience in the industry.  

- ‘Rider/Groom', awarded to Aurélie Baillif (employee to Pascal Journiac). This award recognises a rider/groom who demonstrates talent and reliability and has achieved something outstanding this year.  

- ‘Stud Staff', awarded to Antoine Bellanger (employed by the Ecurie des Monceaux). This prize is awarded to a stud employee who demonstrates expertise, dedication and reliability as well as excellent horsemanship.   

- ‘Newcomer' (stable or stud), awarded to Claire Billet Legros (employed at Aga Khan Studs). This prize is awarded to an employee who displays motivation to succeed and has worked their way up in less than five years of experience.

- ‘Employee of the Year' awarded to Jean-Bernard Roth. This is the highest title given to one of the winners of the preceding categories (excluding the ‘Newcomer' award). By winning this award, Jean-Bernard Roth won his place in the jury for the next edition.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

Have a glimpse of the awards' ceremony here

Share this news :

← Back to list